Diehipster.com – is it parody or hate vehicle?

Does Diehipster.com relieve stress from angry people – channelling their hate so it doesn’t come out in the open or is it enraging people and creating more hate and rascism?

Now that I know that a majority of the posters are minorities attacking White people (excuse, me, Hipsters) – does that then justify their hatred?  Should White people feel guilty for their treatment and their ancestor’s treatment of minorities?

Is Diehipster protected by freedom of speech because the hateful comments come as matter of opinions vs fact?

Can Diehipster actually be seen as useful to the NYC community and any community concerned with gentrification?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Diehipster.com – is it parody or hate vehicle?

  1. M says:

    Diehipster, on a good day, has at best a surface level potential to raise red flags in the back of someone’s mind. Sadly any reasonable conversation ends there. Because that collective toolbox doesn’t have anything sharper than a rubber mallet when it comes to ideas.

    Ba-thoink!

    Ba-thoink!

    Ba-thonk!

    No, the site is not a parody or a satire, which is why they use handles to hide their identities — none of them would be caught dead actually saying this stuff in public in anyone knew who they were. Also, they wouldn’t be capable of anything so… so… creative.

    • Lee Jones says:

      “No, the site is not a parody or a satire, which is why they use handles to hide their identities — none of them would be caught dead actually saying this stuff in public in anyone knew who they were.”

      “M,” I don’t see you putting yourself out there either? Why is that? To use your own words against you, is that because you “be caught dead actually saying this stuff in public in anyone knew who” you were?
      Or do you, like so many posters on blogs or forums post anonymously simply because you’d like to protect your identity just because you don’t want your real name out there?

      The simply reason why I post under an alias is because I simply don’t feel like becoming the victim of a crusade against me because I’m I’m simultaneously not a violent twit as some posters are, but I do still vehemently hate hipsters.

      “M,” I’d like to hear some of your own ideas about hipsters, good or bad. You simply seem to go bash Diehipster and his thoughts but you don’t ever really share any of your own.

      • Lee Jones says:

        Sorry to all for my deplorable rushed typing. I type something quickly and never go back and edit.

        ““M,” I don’t see you putting yourself out there either? Why is that? To use your own words against you, is that because you “be caught dead actually saying this stuff in public in anyone knew who” you were?”

        Should be…

        “M,” I don’t see you putting yourself out there either? Why is that? To use your own words against you, is that because you WOULDN’T “be caught dead actually saying this stuff in public in anyone knew who” you were?

      • M says:

        Lee,

        You’re incorrect — Ed knows exactly who I am, and I don’t offer anything here that I wouldn’t repeat at any other time. What have I said that I might be ashamed of?

        My name is anonymous for the same reason yours is — with the caveat that it be understood I’m saying exactly what I think. Anonymity is no excuse to assume an identity and espouse views you otherwise hide.

        What do I think about hipsters?

        I think we need a better definition of the word. As word, used earnestly, it’s overused. It’s marketing shtick. And as a slur, it implies specific transgressions which don’t apply only to the group in question.

        Hipsters are not gentrification manifest as a single well-outfitted monster. Certainly they gentrify, but they’re not alone, or even that significant a force. More significant forces? Parents that underwrite partially or wholly a child’s lifestyle (which can be any lifestyle, not just “hipsters” — and this is a current trend among middle-class children that defies a one-city explanation), politicians that give developers breaks for building a new condo but that don’t give landlords breaks for holding leases long-term, landlords willing to turn a quick buck by evicting tenants (we can debate the actual cause of the supply and demand chicken vs. egg response here), and city councils that willingly okay development damn the costs.

        To be a hipster requires a certain willingness. Not just a willingness to dress trendy or buy vintage clothes. That’s an obvious, visual part of it, but that’s not unique to hipsters. No, it’s just as much a mindset as a lifestyle, specifically a mindset self-indulgence. There’s an arrogance in it, yes, but I believe it’s more dismissive, more unsure than pure arrogance.

        I think diehipster actually comes pretty close to hitting on the head when he calls hipsters “pseudo-creative” and “intellectuals.” Although, I reject that being an intellectual makes someone a hipster — that alone is hardly enough. The idea of a pseudo-intellectual, though, isn’t a bad start. There’s definitely a facade of know-it-all among hipsters who are really deep in it. Some of that facade is probably the result of the reality of moving your life somewhere new (not as big a violation as some people make it out to be), because that leads to uneasiness and insecurity.

        Mostly, though, I think that to be a hipster requires a combination of lifestyle + mindset, which I why I take serious offense to people who see someone on a bike wearing a sweater vest and think: hipster! It’s not that simple.

        As an example, to advocate that it’s okay to steal a person’s bike because they pass some kind of visual hipster inspection is nonsense — there’s an entire mindset that you’ve ignored and not bothered to confirm. (Aside from the fact that robbing or mugging somebody can’t be justified. Ever.)

        You might suspect someone’s a hipster after meeting them, but absolutely you can’t confirm it before talking to them. Diehipster violates that. He’s judging with no knowledge whatsoever.

      • M says:

        After thinking about my reply more, I recognize that it can be pretty easily lambasted as too narrow.

        If you wanted to define hipsters more broadly, even on a generational level, could you? How?

  2. One thing I was thinking of – I love how now all of a sudden they are calling for site moderation of the comments. When it was just this “Steve” guy who posted stuff they could make fun of right away, it was all so fun for them. But with you on there challenging them and making them have to think – now they are scared. Also with you mentally abusing them in a way that they’ve been doing since its inception, wow all of a sudden they can’t look in the mirror without feeling a tad bit guilty.

    One of my favorite things about their comment group-think strategy is claiming that all opposition to their viewpoints is from the perspective of this one enemy of the people, Steve. Just like Goldstein in 1984. We are all his sockpuppets. I love that. It’s a brillant way to quell resistence. And isolate people who don’t want to play with their BS.

    How can I be a Steve sockpuppet if I have posted all my information. As they have found by sending me hateful personal email messages – I’m a real guy right there. Oh well, hey guys keep those emails coming! And maybe next time, send them from email addresses that aren’t your own personal ones so I can’t go on google and find out personal information about yourselves. Consider me like a helpful public device that’s cleaning up how you surf the web in terms of your privacy.

  3. M says:

    I dunno, but they think I’m that Steve guy, which is amusing.

    Diehipster is actually the quickest to get quiet. He’s pretty much only comfortable preaching to his choir.

    As for your group-think comment:

    About a year ago, I had the professional pleasure of speaking to a bunch of conspiracy theorists. They were so rabid about their ideas that they could barely talk amongst themselves — they couldn’t stand that even their own ‘friends’ had slightly different conspiracy theories from their own.

    When challenged from the outside? It was incredible. They retreated into a shell. They would go on and on and on about how they wanted the world to hear what they had to say, but when the world asked even a mildly suggestive question they. were. outraged.

    They’re solution was to create a message board that only they could view! Thus defeating the purpose of their mission, but ensuring that they could never be challenged.

    Victory?

    • Lee Jones says:

      OK, “M,” I reread your last post to me over at Diehipster and I gotta apologize. You did call yourself by name [Terry] and you did provide some of your own ideas on the subject – sorry I missed that the first time. I was busy doing work and I skimmed through it during a quick bit of relaxation.

      I also realize that my post, the one you were responding to, was for more directly disparaging to The Mast Bros. than I intended.
      I still contend that they epitomize the genuinely well intentioned (though oblivious) behavior that unwittingly can and often does act as a “foot in the door” for gentrification, but having done more research, I can safely say that The Mast Bros. are pretty late on the gentrification route and certainly haven’t fostered any gentrification that hadn’t already been well underway.

      And Ed (or anyone else), before you misinterpret this, post to me continuing to attack The Mast Bros., I’d like to further clarify what I’m saying: Businesses like theirs do not consciously seek to change the dynamic of an area. That’s an unfortunate byproduct. However (and let’s divorce this from hipsters for a second), say you take any poor area in any major city and you open up an extremely expensive French bistro there. Well, the owners of the bistro know that they’re not gonna get a huge clientele coming to the place because they’re in a poor neighborhood, and the local residents aren’t going to eat there cause they can’t afford it. Well, this hypothetical bistro could be the first step in “redevelopment” of the area. If it promotes itself right and manages to get a sizable clientele, other burgeoning higher-class businesses decide to move to the area and take advantage of the cheap rents, figuring that they can take advantage of the slowly growing clientele from the bistro.
      Soon a wealthy real estate firm shrewdly buys up a couple nearby abandoned apartment buildings and “redevelops” them into “affordable modern homes/condos, causing a greater influx of the wealthy, who in turn demand more businesses cater to their demographic. That’s essentially how a lot of modern gentrification starts, or at least in some similar form.

      Now returning to hipsters, the same is true of areas they infest. When a trendy hipster clothing/record/vintage store opens up, soon more follow, displacing older businesses and slowly changing the demographic of the area.
      The Mast Bros. represent a part of this change. A business wich would have been unheard of in Williamsburg 30 years ago seems common place today.

      What gives a neighborhood character? It’s the things that makes it unique; whether it’s the food, the ethnic groups, the architecture, the layout, etc. But when areas are gentrified they immediately loose their character. They become indistinguishable from each other. Williamdburg will ultimately end up like a new SoHo or East Villiage. It’ll loose the atmosphere is had, good or bad.

  4. I'm so unhip says:

    I came here wanting to take you seriously and wanting to impart a little knowledge from the “native” side without all the anger and hate. I came here because I thought perhaps I could learn and also teach something. However, you have devoted the majority of your posts to either bashing or finding the identity of diehipster. In the process, you’ve christened yourself as some type of hero to those whom you perceive he has wronged in some way. You’ve more or less dismissed much of what myself and Lee have said, despite claiming to be grateful for our contributions. And you’ve behaved as, if not more-so, childishly as DH.

    His site never claims to be a force for change. It is advertised as a site to bash hipsters. Yet you repeatedly call him out on not being proactive. How do you know he isn’t when not writing the blog? The site is a satire. It is a place to vent. There is cartoon violence at times, but it is there for laughs. It’s called dark humor, black comedy. On the occasion he posts real life stories of violence and makes statements such as “he deserved it”. And, while I don’t necessarily believe anyone really deserves a beating, others may not feel the same. There is never a serious call to physically organize and march into the streets and begin killing off bearded young men. There is no conspiracy to commit violence. All commentary comes after the fact. After the fact anyone can say anything they want. It is all a matter of mindset and opinion. You may not think it’s right. I may not think it’s right. But I’m not the thought police. Neither should you attempt to be.

    In the last few days I’ve also seen some postings by the regulars that came through as very intelligent. These same regulars are the ones who rant, rave, and generally curse and abuse most of the time. My guess is, they’re much more intelligent than the typical ranting lets on. This leads me to believe that they are, in fact, blowing off steam. I doubt they’re the so-called knuckle draggers you’d like to believe them to be. I think it somehow makes you feel better to think of them as less intelligent and prone to real violence because then you can have a superiority complex guilt free. And, yes, I believe you have a superiority complex. You definitely come off that way. Do the DH commenters do the same? Sure. But they are not in denial about it.

    In all honesty, I have access to someone who could probably get the true identities of every single person posting to either blog by the end of the weekend, depending on how the IPs are tracked and whether the posters use personal or public computers. I could probably have all the answers you want by Monday if I truly wanted to that badly. (I’ve said I know many people in all walks of life.) However, I don’t. I don’t care to invade the privacy of random strangers who choose to share their views under an alias. I don’t care to police what they think or say. I believe it is their right, and mine, and yours had you chosen to protect it, to have that privacy. I am, for the most part, the same person on or offline. Maybe you are as well. But what choice do you have since you were already outed at the start of this thing? Some people choose to adopt a character. So what? You are not the authority on all things regarding etiquette and morality.

    I posted there that if I were to have DH’s identity and turn it over to you I’d use your reward money to take him to a steak dinner. And I would, if I had any interest in helping you find him. I also said I am not a “fan” of yours. And I’m not. So far you’ve been too focused on tearing someone else down-supposedly for tearing people down. It feels like you just took the personal attacks too much to heart and have an “I’ll show them” attitude. I also said this just isn’t fun anymore. And it’s not. Please do something besides stalk diehipster if you really want to focus on gentrification, or hipsters, or anything that isn’t just a virtual gang war. Because I really can’t see what the purpose of all this is but to piss off people, to fuel their hate, and then to point at them and call them hateful. You are not being part of the solution.

    • I’m so unhip – I’m a native too. I grew up in Connecticut. Oh wait, that doesn’t count. Sorry there. Could we all drop this “I’m a native New Yorker act?” Instead just tell me – I grew up in New York. It’s just as easy to say.

      Please how have I dismissed what you have said or Lee? No. Only thing we disagree on is about keeping DH and the hate poster’s right to privacy.

      Which in the end I have done. I have several of their email addresses because they posted by accident on my site no knowing that it records it. I have their phone numbers and their names – and I don’t care. I’m not going to do anything with it. I swear to God.

      You have affected me. I think about what you say and act on it. I never called you a fan of mine – or did I ? Anyway I take it back – you hate me. Fine. Who doesn’t? They have a right to be anonymous and rant and rave. All I want is for them to not be antisemetic and hateful and etc. I don’t want to go on the site or have someone else go on and suddenly feel their hate.

      I respect you so much. I do. What can I do to show you this? I guess it’s hard in this blog.

      I don’t want DH’s identity. Let him do what he wants. Just please tell them to stop saying that they are going to kill me. Even if it’s just joking around, it’s not nice to hear from a bunch of anonymous posters, some who could be potentially dangerous.

      Am I fueling their hatred – I don’t think so. I do care about gentrification. And slowly I’ll get all the serious people on their site to make my site a new home without pure hate floating around?

      And finally, what virtual gang war? Is there a war? I’m just making fun of Diehipster’s grammar and brightening up photos he posts to learn more about his lifestyle.

Leave a Reply

