Get to Know Your Local Hipster #1

Hey DH readers – here’s a new weekly section called, “Get to Know your local hipster”.  I will be adding to this fieldwork so you can understand what you think of hipsters are by appearance and what they are really like.  So everyone can see what’s behind those owl-rimmed glasses. The results won’t probably shock you.

“HIPSTER” #1 –

> 1.  where you from originally? Springfield, USA

> 2.  how long have you been in new york?

3.5 years

> 3.  where have you lived in new york?

Midtown, east village, Williamsburg

> 4.  why did you leave your hometown?

To study and learn and for eventual career opportunities

> 5. what’s your current occupation?

Tv production

> 6.  are you paying for your rent on your own?

Since 2001

> 7. why did you choose the place that you currently live?

Affordable, close to work, family, friends

> 8.  how long do you plan to stay in New York?

As long as I keep getting paid and no better opportunity elsewhere arises

> 9.  do you do anything to contribute to the local community?

I buy things in my hood at small businesses, I don’t do neighborhood watch or volunteer clean up

> 10. how many hours a week do you work?

60-100

“HIPSTER” #2 –

1.  where you from originally? Cleveland, Ohio

2.  how long have you been in new york? 2 years

3.  where have you lived in new york? Wiliamsburg, Brooklyn

4.  why did you leave your hometown? To attend Parsons to study Fashion Design.  I wanted to persue creative interests- there were hardly any jobs in Cleveland, much less jobs in creative fields.

5. what’s your current occupation? Good question.  I am an aspiring Wardrobe stylist and clothing designer.  I currently freelance doing anything I can get.  Right now I’m at J.Crew working in their Business Development area.

6.  are you paying for your rent on your own? Good Lord, yes.  Are you offering to help?

7. why did you choose the place that you currently live? Safety, creative neighborhood, proximity to city.  Relatively less rent for more space compared to city.  Also, most of my friends live in or around my neighborhood.

8.  how long do you plan to stay in New York? As long as I can bear it financially, spiritually and weather-wise.  Then I’ll move to LA.

9.  do you do anything to contribute to the local community? I walk around looking fashionable so I guess what you could call an “aesthetic asset”.

10. how many hours a week do you work? upwards of 40

“HIPSTER #3” –

1. Long Island, NY

2. 3.5 years

3. North Brooklyn

4. I left MA (where I went to school) to have more job opportunities, to be around older people.  I left Long Island because I wanted to live in a place where there would be lots of job opportunities, more diversity.

5. Retail management/food service

6. Yes

7. Cheap rent, close to my job (so I can more easily take care of my dog), dog-friendly apt., close to my friends, good public transportation proximity

8. For at least another year or two.  I’d like to travel and live in other places but would consider coming back to live permanently.

9. NYC greenmarket volunteer, organizes fundraisers and events to raise awareness/promote food sustainability and urban farming.  I’m currently being trained to maintain bee hives around NYC to help sustain urban gardens and parks and to provide affordable local honey.  Yum!

10. 50, appx.

Hipster #4 –

1.  where you from originally? I was born in New York, but I grew up in Columbus, Ohio.
2.  how long have you been in new york? About 7 years.
3.  where have you lived in new york? I very briefly sublet apartments in downtown Brooklyn and Williamsburg. I then lived in Greenpoint for five years. About a year ago I moved into Manhattan. Of all the places I’ve lived here, I liked Greenpoint the most. The folks from the old neighborhoods there were the nicest.
4.  why did you leave your hometown? I left for college.
5. what’s your current occupation? Freelance production.
6.  are you paying for your rent on your own? Yes.

8.  how long do you plan to stay in New York? I imagine I’ll have a presence here for the rest of my life. Ideally, I’d prefer to live somewhere more rural. But I need to be were the jobs are.
9.  do you do anything to contribute to the local community? Not since I moved, no. Some block organization stuff and given to the local church, but not as active as I should be.
10. how many hours a week do you work? At the moment, I’m on ‘freelance vacation.’ When I’m working, well, well over 40 hours a week.

“HIPSTER #5”

1.  where you from originally? Greenfield, MA
2.  how long have you been in new york? 5 years
3.  where have you lived in new york? Windsor Terrace and Greenpoint
4.  why did you leave your hometown? It’s a small town with no jobs. To pursue filmmaking, the choice was either LA or NYC, and I liked NYC a lot more.
5. what’s your current occupation? Filmmaker (director & editor of documentaries, cause-related films, and commercials)
6.  are you paying for your rent on your own? Yes
7. why did you choose the place that you currently live? I had a friend in the building and when I visited Greenpoint I thought it was a nice quiet neighborhood with a couple decent bars. Now there are a lot more bars and shops, but it’s still pretty quiet.
8.  how long do you plan to stay in New York? Probably for most of my career if not my life
9.  do you do anything to contribute to the local community? Not anything really beyond trying to be a respectful resident of the neighborhood and to support local businesses.
10. how many hours a week do you work? depending on what project I am working on, 35-50 hours a week.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Get to Know Your Local Hipster #1

  1. The King of Never Lose says:

    Like I said. Every hipster claims they work 60+ hours a week. But that is because they do not know what work is and have never worked.

    They are alleged “freelancers” and consider themselves to be working at the stupidest times.

    eg: Thinking about art, watching movies, aimlessly surfing the net, drinking with friends.

    • These friends of mine aren’t hipsters…they are working professionals who work in the media. And the media is a freelance industry. Such as making the television you watch or commercials. It takes a lot of work. There is a difference here. One day you’ll see it. One day you’ll be able to distinguish someone who looks like a hipster and someone who really is. It’s going to take a lot of work but I’m not done yet with guys like you.

  2. Hipster #4 says:

    Dear King,

    Yeah, unfortunately, you’re wildly off base.

    I’d happily debate with you the merits of doing freelance work as well as the exploitative business practices that foist it upon my industry, but what I won’t stand for is misinformed half-ass like yourself grossly misstating reality.

    I enjoy my work. Is it fun? A lot of the time, yes, because if I don’t enjoy the projects I work on they’re hardly worth the investment of my time. But make no mistake: it’s work. It requires not just creativity but more consideration than I suspect you’ve given to anything you’ve worked on in your life.

    Where you’ve gotten your impression of what production entails, I don’t know. Your description is someone ironic, though, since the reality is that most of the folks on set are blue collar industry vets who work harder than anyone on the project, the kind of people I’ll bet you think you identify with.

    Then again, what you’ve described, truthfully, is the difference between being a professional and being a hack. I’m a professional. Professionals understand what they do and how it gets done. What you’ve described is a hack. And between me and you and everyone on the internet: I suspect you’re a hack.

  3. The King of Never Lose says:

    Obviously I have generalized a ton.

    I lived with a hipster for a bit and all my judgments are pretty much based on them, so I am guilty of being narrow minded. Still, I have yet to meet an actual working class artist.

    I do not work in the arts, but I do have a little experience with the stage hands union and I believe they are probably going to ruin things for other unions. This is a different topic completely though.

    I don’t know how I can be a hack. I am a union draftsman.

    • Hipster #4 says:

      Yeah, I’d say you generalized quite a bit. I’ve noticed that’s pretty much what people at diehipster.com do.

      I called you a hack because you weren’t trying very hard. I’ve found, in general, that’s the glaring difference between people who are good at their jobs and the people who aren’t: effort.

      It’s pretty easy to sit back, see something that looks different, and call it a name. It’s takes only a bit more effort to get online and complain about something you don’t understand.

      On the contrary, it requires trying to think that you might be misinterpreting a situation. It takes a bit of effort to determine when your disgust is merited and when it’s just shameful.

      I’m sorry that your roommate was lazy. Do you really think and entire generation of people deserve to be mocked and threated because of him?

      I rue the day that Ed introduced me to diehipster. The hate it brings into the world is almost unfathomable. It’s truly a being so ugly and heinous I can’t take my eyes of it.

      • The King of Never Lose says:

        Its hard not to prejudge when the people I am referring to intentionally dress really similar, act very similar, enjoy basically the same things… Its like a cult.

        And I understand people who like the same things gravitate towards each other.

        To be quite honest with you, if I really hated hipsters and wished they were dead I would leave Greenpoint. I care less than my posts indicate… even though I don’t think I ever posted anything violent.

        I still believe that our generation does have a horrible understanding of what work is because we may have been spoiled and coddled.

        My ex roommate and his friend drove me crazy with their “business meetings” on their parents credit cards that started with them talking about a screen play for 40 minutes and ended up with them blacking out. These always occurred on weeknights.

        In short, every group of people has good guys and dickheads. I will never be able to back this up with statistics, but I think the douche bags who claim to be working in the creative field (whether hipsters or not) out weigh the respectable ones who actually do work.

        On a side note, I regard my ex-hipster roommate like a son. He’s four years older than me, but after taking care of him for the duration of our lease its impossible for me to hate him. I think I was a positive male role model…

  4. Hipster Holocaust says:

    Quick question:
    I’m just curious, but how do the folks you interviewed feel about being described as “hipsters” when it has such a negative stigma? These guys work, sure, but I would think that being called a “hipster” when i work my behind off, knowing that hipsters are nototrious for thier laziness, rudeness, lack of work ethic etc would be offensive. No offense to you or the article, but were they described as hipsters because of their living situations in BK right now, or is it because theyre freelancers in the media industry? Do you know these people personally, or did they take it upon themselves to be branded “hipsters”?

    ps- im not shocked by the answers/responses at all.

    • Hipster #4 says:

      HH,

      Call me whatever the hell you like. I don’t share your confusion.

      What would have shocked you in the responses?

      • Hipster Holocaust says:

        nothing. i was making a joke w ed when he said “the responses probrably wont shock you”

        hm.

  5. they are my friends who I emailed. they look like hipsters but they aren’t just like I imagine you look. one day the guys on dh will be able to figure out that there are hipsters and people who dress like them but aren’t hipsters. like lee jones.

    • The King of Never Lose says:

      I don’t look like a hipster, but I moved to Greenpoint from the Bronx, and sometimes feel like a double outcast. Not accepted by the Poles, or hipsters. Boo hoo for me.

    • The King of Never Lose says:

      I mean, I think the poles think I’m a yuppie too!

      • You hit the nail on the head, King. It feels like shit to be lumped in with another group of people even though you’re not one. That’s all I’m trying to do. I know people hate the Yupsters and that’s fine and all, I hate them too – but you gotta be respectful before you throw that terminology around. Gets people upset.

Leave a Reply

